Tier Two Committee

The Tier Two Committee for Facility Planning consisted of representatives from elected bodies of local government, the business community, and at large community members. The charge of the Tier Two Committee was to review recommendations from Tier One and, based on this information, provide recommendations to the Board of Education in the following areas:  location of facilities, collaborations/partnerships with other public entities in the Champaign Unit #4 District, and finance/referendum schedule.


On June 13, 2016, the Tier Two Committee presented its final report, and recommendations, to the Board of Education. View that report here.

Public Meeting Dates for Tier Two Committee

All community members are invited to attend. Time is allotted on the agenda for public comment at each meeting. 

Starting on April 21, 2016, all meetings are on a Thursday and begin at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room at the Mellon Administrative Center (703 S. New Street in Champaign). 


Board of Education:  Chris Kloeppel and Amy Armstrong

City of Champaign:  Paul Faraci and Will Kyles

Champaign Park District:  Tim McMahon and Craig Hays

Village of Savoy:  R. Dee Shonkwiler

MTD:  Brad Diel

Champaign County Chamber of Commerce:  Laura Weis

Economic Development Council:  Craig Rost

Black Chamber of Commerce:  Troy Deen

At Large Members:  Sam Banks, Laura Berg, Luz Murillo, Alan Nudo, Jewell White

Facilitator:  Steve Carter